What is in a name …

31 Aug

So when we decided to start his blog, there really was only one choice for the name of it.   In the last couple of years Susan and I have had the good fortune of spending some time with James Beard award-winning  Chef Barbara Lynch.

bl

It all started about three years ago, almost to the day, when I was searching around for a cooking class for Susan, to give to her for her birthday.   I stumbled upon Stir, a new ” demonstration kitchen and cookbook library.”  Everything sounded great, but there were no photos on the site!

I wasn’t able to sign up for a class that I wanted – it was sold out, a good sign of things to come – but I did email them to get on the newsletter list, and I mentioned that I was a photographer interested in food, and I’d be happy to shoot for them.  Long story short, we’ve become connected to Barbara and the “Gruppo” family a bit, and I’ve photographed in all of her restaurants and locations since.

Part of the beauty of being in the kitchen with Barbara is you get to see an amazing Chef and her staff at work, and you get to hear some of the back stories about the food, people and chaos that surrounds the various establishments she runs.  During one of these moments, Chef was talking about presenting a cooking class to a small group of people, and taking questions from the “students.”  Among the various inquires about technique and cooking time came the question, “Is it OK to substitute two-percent milk for the heavy cream in that recipe?”

F2% came from that interaction, and has been my “unofficial motto” ever since I heard the story told.

Cheers,

Justin

Leave a Reply

